So many places of interest put out the welcome mat across the Coro Alive! 175 Discovery Weekend.
Winns Bakehouse, which is managed by the Coromandel Valley and Districts Branch of the National Trust, was among the participating local attractions.
Friday 16th March was a day for school visits with classes from Coromandel Valley Primary School and St. john's School, Belair calling in.
On Saturday 17th and Sunday 18th it was families from the local area and visitors from as far away as the Gold Coast who enjoyed exploring the Bakehouse.
Coromandel Valley CFS & SES stations: volunteers were on hand to explain how the two services operate and the CFS crew had a display of memorabilia and photographs documenting the brigade’s 50+ years.
St John’s (Anglican) Church: consecrated by Bishop Augustus Short, the first Anglican Bishop of Adelaide in 1873, this picturesque church one of the oldest buildings in the valley. Features include a series of truly spectacular stained glass windows by artist Sally Butterfield (Sandiford), a glass font made at the Jam Factory and the architecture itself (stage 1 completed 1873, stage 2 1907 and an enlarged Vestry, 1973).
Blackwood Forest Recreation Park, where the Friends of Blackwood Forest displayed artefacts from the former government orchard and sold pies and jams made from local fruits.
Gamble Cottage and Garden: looking picture-perfect across this sunny weekend, the garden is afternoon tea destination and those with an interest in things historic found plenty to catch their attention in the cottage itself.
Quite a few people took the opportunity to explore Coromandel Valley on foot with some joining Walking SA for one of its guided walks and others choosing a self-guided tour using the maps available on this website (see the Key Information Downloads in the lefthand column).
We hope you enjoy these photos from the weekend. Click an image to enlarge.